City officials, school board candidates make March ballot 

By Emilie St. John

Contributing Writer

COMPTON — The city will hold municipal elections March 5 and the certified candidates list was published to the city’s website Dec. 14.

City Attorney Eric Perrodin will not face any challengers after a candidate failed to return nomination papers to qualify for the ballot.

Perrodin was appointed city attorney by a 3-0 City Council vote with two abstentions in October 2021.

“I’m humbled by the support and confidence the City Council has shown in selecting me as city attorney,” said Perrodin, a former mayor, at the time of his appointment.

Perrodin is a lifelong resident of Compton. He started his career in the city’s park’s and recreation department, and once served as chairman of the Personnel Commission. He served with the Compton Police Department from 1983 to 1995 and served as the president of the police union.

After completing law school, he became a deputy district attorney in 1995, and was elected mayor in 2001, defeating Omar Bradley, and winning re-election in 2005 and 2009. He has the distinction of being Compton’s longest-serving mayor.

He was defeated by Aja Brown in 2013 after an exposé surfaced regarding the city’s finances and his desire to re-establish the Compton Police Department.

Perrodin replaced former City Attorney Damon Brown, who was appointed to the position in 2019, after Craig Cornwell vacated the seat to become city manager.

City Council members Lillie Darden and Deidre Duhart are also up for reelection March 5.

Duhart, whe represents District 1, was appointed to her seat in April 2022 after Michelle Chambers resigned from her seat two years into her term.

Duhart, who represents District 4, will face Jasper Jackson and Fidel Marquez.

Darden was appointed to her seat in July 2021, after Emma Sharif was elected mayor. She will face Alysia Rivers, Terrance Cumby and Joel Estrada. Early campaign finance reports indicate Rivers has received contributions from Councilman Andre Spicer.

City Clerk Vernell McDaniel is facing two challengers. McDaniel was appointed to her seat last Jan. 17 after the retirement of long-time City Clerk Alita Godwin.

“Currently, four of eight persons seated on the dais are appointees who have not received one single vote, collectively, from the residents of Compton,” said Cynthia Macon, a long-time resident. “While the decision to appoint McDaniel to replace her predecessor was met with applause and testimonials, the entire process once again raised questions and scrutiny over the flawed nature of succession to leadership in the city of Compton.”

McDaniel will face Compton school board member Satra Zurita and Lynne Boone.

Three members of the Compton school board are up for re-election with only two facing challengers.

Board member Sandra Moss will run unopposed.

Board member Micah Ali will face challenger Omar Spry and board member Charles Davis will face Michael Hooper Jr.

Emilie St. John is a freelance journalist covering the areas of Carson, Compton, Inglewood and Willowbrook. Send tips to her at