Gala raises $10 million for Academy Museum

Wave Staff and Wire Reports

LOS ANGELES — The Academy Museum of Motion Pictures raised $10 million to support the museum’s access, education, and programming initiatives during its second annual fundraising gala Oct. 14, organizers said.

Oscar winner Julia Roberts was among the honorees, receiving the museum’s Icon Award for a career spanning three decades that has “had a significant global cultural impact.” The award was presented by George Clooney, her longtime friend and co-star in the newly released film “Ticket to Paradise.”

“Over the course of her expansive and renowned career, Julia has embodied iconic characters and memorable roles,” Jacqueline Stewart, director and president of the Academy Museum, said in a statement. “We are thrilled to be honoring her continued excellence in the industry and contribution to the arts.”

Other honorees were Oscar-winning actor Tilda Swinton, who received the Visionary Award, which recognizes an artist “whose extensive oeuvre has advanced the art of cinema.” The award was presented by her longtime friend and collaborator Luca Guadagnino.

Miky Lee, executive producer of the 2019 Best Picture winner “Parasite” received the Pillar Award in honor of her leadership and support for the Academy Museum and director Steve McQueen, the 2013 Oscar-winning producer of Best Picture winner “12 Years a Slave” was presented with a Vantage Award recognizing his work to “contextualize and challenge dominant narratives around cinema.

The star-studded affair was attended by some of Hollywood’s most prolific and notable actors, filmmakers, and industry executives. Guests included: U.S. Rep. Adam Schiff, Adrien Brody, Alan Bergman, Alana Haim, Alana and Steve Polacheck, Academy Museum trustee Alejandro Ramírez Magaña, Alexa Demie, Alexandra Daddario, Alicia Vikander, Allison Janney, Amal and George Clooney, Amber Valletta, Andrea Nevins, Academy Museum trustee Arnaud Boetsch, Ashton Sanders, Ava DuVernay and BJ Novak.

Also in attendance were Academy CEO Bill Kramer, Academy COO and Academy Museum General Counsel Brendan Connell Jr., Brian Swardstrom, Brooklyn and Nicola Peltz Beckham, Bryan Lourd, Brynn Saban, Chloe Zhao, Christina Ricci, Chudney and Joshua Faulk, Cleo Wade, Colman Domingo, Daniel Kaluuya, Danny Elfman, Danny Ramirez, Academy Museum trustee David Dolby and Natasha Dolby, Derek Blasberg, Diana Silvers, Diego Boneta, Djuna Bel and Academy Museum trustee Dominic Ng.

Others attending the gala were Donna Langley, Eddie Redmayne, Eiza González, Elvis Mitchell, Emma Stone, Academy Museum trustee Eric Esrailian, Este Haim, Evan Ellis Ross, Gia Coppola, Gina Prince-Bythewood, Glenn Close, Ha Jung-Woo, Hailey Bieber, Honor Titus, Academy Museum Director and President Jacqueline Stewart, Academy President Janet Yang, Academy Museum trustee Jason Blum and Lauren Schuker, Jay Ellis and Jeffrey and Marilyn Katzenberg.

Still more were Jodie Turner-Smith, Joe Jonas, Judd Apatow, Juliana Margulies, Kerry Washington, Laura Dern, Olivia Wilde, Rebel Wilson, Ron Howard, Selena Gomez, Selma Blair, Sophie Turner, Spike and Tonya Lewis Lee, Stephanie Hsu, Stephen Galloway, Sterling K. Brown, Taylor Russell, Thuso Mbedu, Van Jones, Vanessa Burghardt, Whitney Peak, Yoon Jong-bin and Youn Yuh-Jung.

The ceremony was co-chaired by Academy Award-winning actor and Academy Museum supporter Halle Berry, Academy Museum Trustee and producer Jason Blum, Academy Museum Trustee and screenwriter-director-producer Ryan Murphy, and Academy Award-winning actor Lupita Nyong’o.

Following a cocktail hour in Fanny’s Restaurant, the RAISE choir led guests to a Wolfgang puck-inspired dinner on the Dolby Family Terrace. In a room inspired by the Hollywood landmark restaurant, Perino’s, guests were treated to a special musical performance by Diana Ross.

Now in its second year, the Academy Museum Gala is an annual celebration that reflects the museum’s mission to advance the understanding, celebration and preservation of cinema and to expand knowledge and conversation about cinema as a global art form and cultural force. The inaugural gala in 2021 raised more than $11 million.

The long planned museum opened on Sept. 30, 2021 in the old May Co. building on Wilshire Boulevard.

It is the largest museum in the United States devoted to the arts, sciences and artists of moviemaking.